A Journey Into Classical Music

It’s difficult to be objective about classical music when one is completely surrounded by it from birth till the present age in movies and television shows. Old folks and nerds tend to be the greatest appreciators of classical music; at least in the US. In a sense the odds are stacked against a common individual trying to develop an honest appreciation of Bach, Beethoven, and even Mozart. Fortunately my journey to revise my previous opinion on classical music began with Rossini’s Overture to the Barber of Seville. I think this is my favorite piece of music of all time. Of course I remembered it from my childhood, but a thorough indulgence of the beauty that is this wonderful piece eased me into a passionate lust for more. When one closes the eyes at 2 AM and just lies still, the mind is able to deconstruct and rebuild what used to be familiar. I suggest such a procedure to anyone attempting to understand this music.

I have come to appreciate the beautiful starlit contemplation that Debussy and Chopin bring. Beethoven was made for partying, Bach for thinking, and Mozart seems to be an all purpose composer. Don’t get me wrong, Chopin has his waltzes and Bach has his dance hits as well, but in general these are the moods I have come to associate with each composer thus far. Another favorite is Gustav Mahler whose emotionally conductive art compels one to feel what Mahler wants you to feel; I get the feeling that he was a composer who in a way chose his audience more than the audience chose him. Maybe I could explain that better one day.

I hope to one day venture into the worlds of Brahms, Verdi, Vivaldi etc. etc. though there is still work to be done on the front I have already faced.

Leave a comment